top of page

Horoscopes, and why they are full of crap

Horoscopes make us feel like we can have some control over our lives. It tells us elaborate stories and descriptions that seem all too familiar and accurate. It gives you the feeling that someone can tell you how your life will turn out. Depression is often caused by a feeling of helplessness, or lack of control. Do horoscopes actually benefit us?

A year ago I made a purchase of The Secret Language of Relationships, which is a book based on horoscope relationships and what dynamiques between signs occur. The more I read it, and compared it with everyday relationships, the more convinced I became that this book had supernatural powers.

Once I starting liking a guy but not trusting my instincts, I found myself looking in this 800 page book on horoscopes. I am a Sagittarius, and reading about my relationship of Sagittarius and Pisces I found that it is a 'dreamy' couple, with similar spirituality. But the Pisces has little confidence about their future, and what they really want. They take a teacher to pupil stance with Sagittarius', which was evident in our encounters. He loved telling me about geography or his career, and I loved to listen. However, Sagittarius' become fixated on pleasure seeking, and will be very honest when they want something- or someone. Once I decided, okay I'm going to try doing this, I tried too hard and thought impulsively. Pisces often feel pushed beyond their limit. As my past encounter that left my heart sore said, "you expect too much". Sagittarius' will make it obvious when they are dissatisfied, which can seem selfish instead of honest. The Pisces and I had great fun, but as the book read, the Pisces was not ready for commitment, or the type of intense optimism a Sagittarius brings. This all came out in our conversation, and I wish I could have explained why this lined up so well with the book, it was because it was sabotaging me.

Everything was okay till I looked at that damn book. It psyched me out. It made me think he was so wishy washy and soon after I either began to notice it, or change my own life and habits to make it happen. I would never normally text a guy I like 15 times to get his attention. But knowing this guy was noncommittal, or that the book said so, I started to doubt whether he would really be there for me when I 'needed him'. He was not. But the worst part, I can't even blame him, I blame this book.

No one wants to know the future of their lives... do you? I mean just like I tried to change this man after reading the 'truth' about him, we would try to change the course of our lives if we knew the outcome of it.

Mental sabotage is a real thing. I would rather not be told how my life is going to be ran. That is my job.

It's time to either regift- or better yet burn- my horoscope relationships book. And although it is intriguing, I don't think we should ever put ourselves in the container that horoscopes create. YOU are in control of your own future.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page